Alumnus of the Year Award

The Wellsboro High School Alumni Association established the Alumnus of the Year Award in 1996 to recognize an outstanding Wellsboro Alumnus. The Alumni Council solicits candidates each year from the anniversary Alumni Classes. Graduating Alumni are eligible. The Alumni Council will select one recipient and that person will be honored at the Annual WHS Alumni Banquet on the Saturday of Memorial Weekend each year. A Plaque is on display in the Wellsboro High School with all recipients and the recipient receives a plague.

An Outstanding Alumnus may be someone who has excelled in their career, contributed to their community, contributed to our school, performed an exceptional feat or made a difference in the lives of others.

Former Recipients include:

1996 Betty Coolidge Frazier Class of 1941
1997 Mary McInroy-Sheffer Class of 1919
1998 H. Donald Benson Class of 1948
1999 Reverend Mark Bliss Class of 1949
2000 Dr. James McInroy Class of 1950
2001 R. James Dunham Class of 1948
2002 Catherine English Whartenby Class of 1937
2003 Elwood H. Austin Class of 1948
2004 John F. Dunham Class of 1954
2005 No Award Presented  
2006 Rock L. Butler  
2007 Edgar N. Putman Class of 1948
2008 Douglas S. Campbell Class of 1959
2009 Derek Loux Class of 1990
2010 James William Prevost Class of 1962
2011 No Award Presented
2012 Michael Robbins Class of 1973
2013 R. Lowell Coolidge Class of 1958
2014 Joan Spencer Hart Class of 1954
  Gary Cooper Class of 1984
2015 Marjorie Mudge Wetherbee Class of 1955
2016 Louis E. Prevost Class of 1966
2017 Robert Blair Class of 1967

Please provide your class candidate along with a brief description on the person explaining why your classmate should be awarded the Alumnus of the Year Award. Please submit your candidate by the 15th of April each year to:

Elwood Austin
WHS Alumni Association Historian
231 Route 660
Wellsboro PA 16901
(570) 724-5738 (home)


Site Design and Hosting by ElectronMonkey LLC